DR. Zubairu Retains ATU-TUTAG Chairpersonship

Sorting of ballot papers by electoral officers

Incumbent Chairman of the Accra Technical University (ATU) chapter of the Technical University Teachers Association of Ghana (TUTAG), Dr. Ibrahim Zubairu, has grabbed an unassailable victory to retain the Chairperson position of the local union.

In a poll conducted on Wednesday, August 19, 2020, at the University Auditorium, Dr. Zubairu pulled an emphatic 103 votes against 64 to defeat David Worwui-Brown who staged a comeback after an unsuccessful attempt at the previous elections for the same position.

In the other contested positions, Mr. Hanson Obiri-Yeboah in a Yes/No voting format rallied 160 ‘Yes’ with nine (9) people voting ‘No’ to his candidature for the Vice-Chairperson slot. Veteran Collins Owusu Kwaning, incumbent Treasurer of the union, cemented once again his dominance when he pulled 154 ‘Yes’ votes and 16 ‘No’ votes to retain his position.

Frenetic euphoria characterised the declaration of the results for the position of Secretary which had tenderfoot Joshua Baafa contesting the well-established Bright Kojo Azumah. Out of the 171 votes cast, Joshua Baafa toppled the incumbent Mr. Azumah with two (2) votes, pulling 85 against 83 votes, sending seismic shock to the faces of many.

What perhaps can best explain the Ghanaian political phrase; comfortable lead, came in the contest for the Organiser position. Rookie unopposed candidate for the organiser position, Samuel Amo Blay, pulled 170 ‘Yes’ votes to be declared the Organiser of the Union. Among all the unopposed candidates, he was the only elected candidate with a 100 per cent (100%) affirmation.

Undertaken with precision and careful adherence to the COVID-19 hygiene protocols, the electoral process though had some pockets of misunderstanding, was devoid of visible animosity, befitting of the esteemed status of the local union.

Among the retinue of electorates who thronged the voting area to vote were the Vice-Chancellor Prof. Samuel Nii Odai and acting Pro Vice-Chancellor Prof. Amevi Acakpovi.

The Chairperson of the Electoral Committee, Dr. Emelia Ohene Afriyie, in a statement applauded the high turnout and the keen nature of the contest. She, however, added that the isolated incidence of administrative bottlenecks would be addressed in subsequent deliberations to foster unity and preserve the sanctity of the electoral process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *