Faculty of Engineering

Overview of the Faculty

The Engineering industry is dictating the pace of development in the world and it is no doubt that many industries are finding the engineering profession an economically viable entity. The Faculty of Engineering is made of three departments namely: Mechanical Engineering Department, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Department, and the Civil Engineering Department.

The Faculty introduces students to basic engineering principles, and trains engineers who are capable of making a career in teaching, research, commerce, and industry using state-of-the-art teaching methods.

In line with the vision to provide global excellence in competency-based and practice-oriented training, applied research and technology transfer and also with consideration to the University shared values, the Faculty offers outstanding Engineering courses with state-of-the-art laboratories and reputed lecturers who have taught for many years and assumed established authorities in their various fields of study.

Providing practical expertise is at the heart of the faculty. In making this possible, the faculty has collaborated and partnered with various institutions like A-Tech Group Korea Incorporation, Vaasan Ammattikorkeakoulu (VAMK), University of Applied Sciences, Finland, Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority among a few others to offer students the needed competency-based training in various engineering fields.

Currently, the Faculty has a facility at Mpehuasem-Samsam designated as an engineering practical hub for various engineering explorations and training. The faculty through the University has established a drone technology centre in collaboration with the A-Tech Group Korea Incorporation, to run a course in drone assembly, programming and Flight training.

The faculty is set to introduce exciting new programmes in the coming academic year, including a 2-year Master of Project Management in Engineering, in collaboration with the Vaasa University of Applied Sciences in Finland.

The Faculty of Engineering is made up of three departments namely: