New Executives of TUTAG-ATU Sworn In

Newly-elected executives of the Technical University Teachers Association (TUTAG) ATU Chapter have officially been sworn into office in a swearing-in ceremony at the University Main Auditorium.

Speaking at the auspicious occasion, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Samuel Nii Odai who doubled as the Chairman of the ceremony expressed his gratitude on behalf of the University to outgoing executives for their    enormous act of service and selfless dedication to the cause of the Union. He urged members to learn to appreciate those in leadership positions as they are in the helm of making the Union’s interest a realization. He sent a word of caution to members against the  perils of antagonism, cross-purpose talks, back-stabbing and preached unity  as key to a strong union. He advised incoming executives to exude humility in discharging their duties and refrain from any act of abuse of privilege.  

In the same vein, outgoing Vice-Chairperson and the longest serving member of the Union, Dr. Alice Constance Mensah, made a passionate appeal to members of the Union to reciprocate the support given to the outgoing executives in equal measure to the sworn-in executives of the Union. She added a charge to the females in various departments to avail themselves and take up the challenge of becoming leaders of the Union. 

Dr. Ibrahim Zubairu, President, Mr. Hanson Obiri- Yeboah, Vice-Charperson, Joshua Baafa, Secretary, Collins Owusu Kwaning, Treasurer and Samuel  Amo Blay, Organiser, took the oath of office to become the new executives of TUTAG-ATU.

The president, Dr. Zubairu, in his address extended his gratitude to union members for the confidence and trust they have reposed in him in giving him another chance to serve the union.  He called for a united TUTAG-ATU and asked members to smoke the peace pipe with members that have had bad blood between them in the course of the year and during the elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *